Pretty Things - Parachute - LP

Pretty Things - Parachute - LP

Record  Details:

If S.F. Sorrow is the Pretty Things' Sgt. Pepper, Magical Mystery Tour, and Yellow Submarine wrapped in one, then Parachute is their more succinct White Album and Abbey Road. It's not just a time line comparison. The Pretties made this fascinating LP in the same studio as the Fab Four, London's Abbey Road, with Beatles engineer Norman Smith producing. "The Good Mr. Square" replicates the three-part harmony the Beatles were so proud of on "Because." Two songs later, the group assembles a brief, interconnected three-song suite like the famous ones on side two of Abbey Road. Bassist Wally Allen's vocals on tracks such as "Sickle Clowns" have the same throaty, mad anguish that John Lennon exhibited on "Yer Blues" and "Happiness Is a Warm Gun." If S.F. Sorrow is hard rock grandeur, then Parachute is its more bitter twist, the dream dying and the witching hour upon us. Yet, if this isn't as much of a triumph, the creative neurons are still firing throughout a multi-varied, cohesive LP. Like S.F. Sorrow, it's a surprisingly palatable concept LP. This time the topic is a generation caught between the conflicting calls of (rural) peace, love, and boredom, and (urban) sophistication, sex, and squalor in a harsh world. Somehow the departure of the band's main creative force, Dick Taylor, didn't diminish the writing and inspired variety. Allen stepped up big time into the collaborator role with singer Phil May. The harmonies remain a strong point on an otherwise rock-inclined record, and the nasty edge of perfectly balanced bombast in the best songs have been a lost art ever since.

Artist: Pretty Things
Produced  by: Norman Smith
Originally Released in:1970
Number of Discs: 1
Label: Rare Earth
Condition: New/ Sealed

Track Listing:

A1.1         The Good Mr. Square         
A1.2         She Was Tall She Was High         
A2         In The Square     
A3         The Letter / Rain     
A4         Miss Fay Regrets     
A5         Cries From The Midnight Circus
B1         Grass     
B2         Sickle Clowns     
B3         She's A Lover     
B4         What's The Use     
B5         Parachute

High Quality Vinyl Reissue


  • Views: 1417
  • Availability: In Stock
0 Product(s) Sold
  • $13.98
  • Ex Tax: $13.98