Big Star - #1 Record - LP

Big Star - #1 Record - LP

Record  Details:

The problem with coming in late on an artwork lauded as "influential" is that you've probably encountered the work it influenced first, so its truly innovative qualities are lost. Thus, if you are hearing Big Star's debut album for the first time decades after its release (as, inevitably, most people must), you may be reminded of Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers or R.E.M., who came after -- that is, if you don't think of the Byrds and the Beatles, circa 1965. What was remarkable about #1 Record in 1972 was that nobody except Big Star (and maybe Badfinger and the Raspberries) wanted to sound like this -- simple, light pop with sweet harmonies and jangly guitars. Since then, dozens of bands have rediscovered those pleasures. But in a way, that's an advantage because, whatever freshness is lost across the years, Big Star's craft is only confirmed. These are sturdy songs, feelingly performed, and once you get beyond the style to the content, you'll still be impressed.

Artist:Big Star
Produced by: John Fry
Originally Released in:1972
Number of Discs: 1
Label: Ardent Records
Condition: New/ Sealed


Track Listing:

A1         Feel
A2         The Ballad Of El Goodo
A3         In The Street
A4         Thirteen
A5         Don't Lie To Me
A6         The India Song

B1         When My Baby's Beside Me
B2         My Life Is Right
B3         Give Me Another Chance
B4         Try Again
B5         Watch The Sunrise
B6         ST100/6

High Quality Vinyl re-release


Write a review

Please login or register to review
  • Views: 1975
  • Product Code: BIGSTAR-1
  • Availability: In Stock
0 Product(s) Sold
  • $13.98
  • Ex Tax: $13.98