Teenbeats, The ‎– Surf Bound - LP

Teenbeats, The ‎– Surf Bound - LP

Record Notes:

This album serves as both a mini history of the Las Vegas teen scene in pre-Beatle times and the legacy of the town's number one rock & roll combo, the Teenbeats. In 1961, rival DJs Steve Miller and Keith Austin formed the Teenbeat club, which became the teen hangout, boosted by live radio broadcasts over KLAS. Recruited as a house band was the Checkmates, a local combo who immediately changed their name to the Teenbeats. This 21-track collection features 11 tunes from a live 1962 radio broadcast, both sides of the group's three singles, two unreleased tracks from their third and final session for Downey Records, and assorted jingles and celebrity drop-ins used on the radio (and later TV) show, Teenbeat Las Vegas. The excitement of the live cuts is palpable; this is real teen nightclub music, rowdy and sloppy, a clear historical indicator of what the kids were really dancing to in the dark days of chart domination by manufactured teen idols. The studio tracks are righteous, with "Live Like a King" rock & roll doo wop at its most torrid; the other studio offerings are four square in surf territory, with excellent showings on the title track, "Mr. Moto," and "High Roll." A fascinating glimpse into local-scene rock & roll history.


Jim Logue - Tenor Sax

Lyle Smith - bass

Larry Chernoff - Lead Guitar, vocals

Don Frasa - Rhythm Guitar, vocals

Gary Karr - Drums

Steve Miller & Keith Austin - Swingin' DJ managers

Track listing:

A1 Teenbeat Theme 1:46

A2 Slinky 2:20

A3 The Girl Can't Help It 2:49

A4 Stalkin' 4:25

A5 Whole Lotta Shakin' 2:24

A6 Lullaby Of The Leaves 2:27

A7 New Orleans 3:03

A8 Caterpillar Crawl 3:10

B1 Teenbeat Dance Jingle 1:05

B2 Live Like A King 2:25

B3 Surf Bound 1:58

B4 Mystified 2:40

B5 High Roll 1:21

B6 Teenbeats Coke Jingle 0:56

B7 Mr. Moto 1:50

B8 One Armed Bandit 2:10

B9 Russian Roulette 2:09

B10 Big Howdy From Dick & Dee Dee

B11 Rawhide 2:19

B12 Johnny B. Goode 2:48

B13 Tequila Sign Off

  • Views: 456
  • Product Code: TEENBEATS-LP
  • Availability: In Stock
0 Product(s) Sold
  • $15.98
  • Ex Tax: $15.98