Dictators - Manifest Destiny - LP

Dictators - Manifest Destiny - LP

Record  Details:

After the Dictators often-inspired debut album, The Dictators Go Girl Crazy!, went over the heads of the record-buying public and landed with a thud (punk not having given its blend of oddball humor and big guitars a context just yet), they were dropped by their record label and, after signing with Elektra, played things a bit "safer" with their follow-up, 1977's Manifest Destiny. Songwriter and idea man Andy Shernoff moved from bass to keyboards, with Mark "The Animal" Mendoza picking up the four string and Handsome Dick Manitoba advancing from "secret weapon" to periodic lead vocalist (though Shernoff was still doing most of the singing). And Shernoff toned down his goofball world view and taste for high-energy riffage on several tunes, most on notably half-baked would-be arena rockers "Stepping Out" and "Exposed," and ill-advised heartbroken pop tunes "Sleepin' With the T.V. On" (nowhere near as good as its title) and the ludicrous "Hey Boys." The album's four good songs handily point out just how far wrong the other five went; "Disease" features a hilarious spoken introduction from Manitoba that justifies the album's existence all by its lonesome, and the disc ends with a superb hat trick -- "Science Gone Too Far" and "Young, Fast, Scientific" are stone classic Dictators performances, and the closing cover of the Stooges' "Search and Destroy" is inspired.

Artist: The Dictators
Produced by: Murray Krugman, Sandy Pearlman
Originally Released in:1977
Number of Discs: 1
Label: Elektra
Condition: New/ Sealed


Track Listing:
A1         Exposed
A2         Heartache     
A3         Sleepin' With The T.V. On         
A4         Disease

B1         Hey Boys
B2         Steppin' Out     
B3         Science Gone Too Far!     
B4         Young Fast Scientific         
B5         Search And Destroy

High Quality Vinyl Reissue


  • Views: 2017
  • Availability: In Stock
0 Product(s) Sold
  • $10.98
  • Ex Tax: $10.98