Gale Garnett and The Gentle Reign - Sausalito Helioport

Gale Garnett and The Gentle Reign - Sausalito Helioport

Record  Details:

Best known for her Grammy-winning folk hit "We'll Sing in the Sunshine," Gale Garnett has since carved out a long-lived career as a writer and actress. Gale Zoë Garnett was born in Auckland, New Zealand, on July 17, 1942; her family moved to Canada when she was 11, and she made her public singing debut in 1960. In 1964, Garnett scored a Top Five pop hit with her original composition "We'll Sing in the Sunshine," and recorded her debut album, My Kind of Folk Songs, for RCA Victor. Riding the success of "We'll Sing in the Sunshine," which won a Grammy for Best Folk Recording, Garnett continued to record through the rest of the '60s with her backing band the Gentle Reign.

On her pair of obscure late-'60s Columbia LPs, Gale Garnett had changed from the fairly middle-of-the-road pop-folk singer of the mid-'60s to one far more aligned with the pop/rock and psychedelia of the times.

On the second of these, Sausalito Heliport, she was backed (as she had been on the first) by the Gentle Reign. For the songs here seem like awkward attempts to get in on the California psychedelic rock action, with occasional downright embarrassing improvised-sounding lyrics on some of the more ambitious numbers. "There is a flower and it is growing in your head, all you have to do is water it" Garnett solemnly intones in "Water Your Mind"; you can just see Frank Zappa & the Mothers of Invention gagging in the background. The six-minute "Freddy Mahoney" is an out-and-out satirical poke at straight family life with spoken mock-dialogue. The rest of the record takes off.0
 -- the bittersweet folk-rocker "My Mind's Own," with its woozy reverberating guitar, is the standout. But on the whole it's mediocre kind-of-psychedelia that happens to have a good lead singer, kernels of half-decent ideas sometimes getting overwhelmed by pointless overlong passages within the same track; "Deer in the City" is nearly surreal in its hairpin turns between pastoral folk-psych and melodramatic orchestrated verses. "Peace Comes Slowly to the Thrashing Fish" is a title worth remembering the next time you're trying to cite some of the most absurd song titles of all time, though.

Still, this classic reissue belongs in every garage & psych fan's collection!

    Artist: Gale Garnett & The Gentle Reign
    Engineered  by: Bob Breault
    Originally Released in:1969
    Number of Discs: 1
    Label: Columbia
    Condition: New/ Sealed

Track Listing:

A1         Freddy Mahoney        
A2         Peace Comes Slowly To The Thrashing Fish        
A3         The Pretty Is Gone        
A4         This Year's Child        
A5         Berkeley Barb Want Ad        
A6         Deer In The City

B1         Water Your Mind        
B2         My Mind's Own Morning        
B3         The Trip Note Song        
B4         Man In The Middle        
B5         Freely Speaking


  • Views: 3006
  • Availability: In Stock
0 Product(s) Sold
  • $12.98
  • Ex Tax: $12.98