Your Cart

Velvet Undergound & Nico, The - LP

Velvet Undergound & Nico, The - LP
Velvet Undergound & Nico, The - LP
  • Stock: In Stock
195 samples sold
Product Views: 6499
Ex Tax: $18.98

Record Details:

One would be hard-pressed to name a rock album whose influence has been as broad and pervasive as The Velvet Underground & Nico. While it reportedly took over a decade for the album's sales to crack six figures, glam, punk, new wave, goth, noise, and nearly every other left-of-center rock movement owes an audible debt to this set. While The Velvet Underground had as distinctive a sound as any band, what's most surprising about this album is its diversity. Here, the Velvets dipped their toes into dreamy pop ("Sunday Morning"), tough garage rock ("Waiting for the Man"), stripped-down R&B ("There She Goes Again"), and understated love songs ("I'll Be Your Mirror") when they weren't busy creating sounds without pop precedent. Lou Reed's lyrical exploration of drugs and kinky sex (then risky stuff in film and literature, let alone "teen music") always received the most press attention, but the music Reed, John Cale, Sterling Morrison, and Maureen Tucker played was as radical as the words they accompanied. The bracing discord of "European Son," the troubling beauty of "All Tomorrow's Parties," and the expressive dynamics of "Heroin" all remain as compelling as the day they were recorded. While the significance of Nico's contributions have been debated over the years, she meshes with the band's outlook in that she hardly sounds like a typical rock vocalist, and if Andy Warhol's presence as producer was primarily a matter of signing the checks, his notoriety allowed The Velvet Underground to record their material without compromise, which would have been impossible under most other circumstances. Few rock albums are as important as The Velvet Underground & Nico, and fewer still have lost so little of their power to surprise and intrigue more than 40 years after first hitting the racks.

Artist: Velvet Underground
Produced by Andy Warhol
Originally Released in:1967
Number of Discs: 1
Label: Verve Records
Condition: New/ Sealed


Track Listing:

A1         Sunday Morning
A2         I'm Waiting For The Man
A3         Femme Fatale
A4         Venus In Furs
A5         Run, Run, Run
A6         All Tomorrow's Parties

B1         Heroin
B2         There She Goes Again
B3         I'll Be Your Mirror
B4         Black Angel's Death Song
B5         European Son To Delmore Schwartz

Write a review

Notification Module
This is the sticky Notification module. You can use it for any sticky messages such as cookie notices or special promotions, etc.